los angeles: neverland reincarnate

i am 26 years old. i have serious job (albeit this is constantly in question) at a serious company. i am entertaining the idea of moving in with my boyfriend, i pay my bills on time, am saving for a serious down payment on a car, and yesterday was asked to if i wanted to do a 2ft beer bong.

ladies and gentlemen, meet my friends.

for one of my girlfriend’s 27th birthday, she decided to have a good old-fashioned frat party. kegs, flip cup, beer pong, completely unharmonized sweet caroline renditions and jungle juice was all in abundance.

as i took a break and checked my facebook – which is officially now the wedding book – a realization hit me: los angeles is the town of lost boys (and girls). while nearly half of my social media reads as engagement albums and wedding boards, my friends and i are committed to a life of potentially post-prime debauchery.

i remember being 21, at the height of my college exuberance, going out six nights a week. never letting an 8am class or a long day get in the way of what the night could bring. i remember thinking, god… 27 is SO old. when i am 27 i will be settled, weeknight ragers will be far behind me, i’ll host fabulously elegant dinner parties and be a REAL adult.

the current reality: doing laundry, remembering to take my make-up off, and getting to bed before 2am…all small victories.

and it’s not just me. i live in an entire city that considers a non-hungover morning a bit of a failure.  l.a. forces its inhabitants to live in a state of permanent cognitive dissonance, one where age equals greater money and success (which requires maturity), but youth remains the strongest form of currency…resulting in a town full of lost boys and girls, refusing to really grow up.

hence 27-year old frat parties.

i imagine at some point we will all hit a tipping point, pack up our late nights, move to the palisades where instead of rebel-rousing in public, we will just do it indoors with our kids sleeping upstairs. until then i plan to live up this prolonged, la-induced youth, take in the nevernever land of it all…and wait for my age to catch up with me.

2 thoughts on “los angeles: neverland reincarnate

  1. Great post! I turn 27 in 10 days and feel the pressures from friends on social media to settle down and grow up, due to the baby pics, honeymoons albums and wall color paint decisions. I’m rebelling! One day that will come but I don’t feel the need to rush it, so I keep on. Keep on in neverland!

Leave a Reply

